Justice Home The Constitution Flag

Proclaimed Magisterial Districts

Interactive Map: KwaZulu-Natal Magisterial Districts and Lower Courts [Draft]

The Rationalisation of Magisterial Districts project enbales communities to get the following services from courts near to them: Hearings of criminal cases and civil disputes, Maintenance, Small Claims Courts, Domestic Violence, Children’ Court, Deceased Estates and Mediation Serivces. If you are not sure where to get help or you are unable to access or understand the maps of the new demarcation ask the court manager at your nearest court.

LEGENDS/KEYS: Magistrate CourtMagistrate Courts Branch & Detached Courts Branch & Detached CourtsPeriodical Courts Periodical Courts in the District.

You can also follow this link to obtain the contact details for the courts if you are experiencing problems seeing or navigating the map.
Alternatively you can still do a place name search per region to find the nearest court. You can also follow this link to find the contact details of your nearest Police Station.

KwaZulu-Natal Magisterial Districts PDF Boundry Maps

1. Amajuba: Main Seat: Newcastle, Sub District: Dannhauser, Sub District: Emadlangeni

2. eThekwini: Main Seat: Durban, Sub District: eThekwini North, Sub District: eThekwini South, Sub District: eThekwini West

3. Harry Gwala: Main Seat: Hlanganani (Polela), Sub District: Greater Kokstad, Sub District: Ubuhlebezwe, Sub District: Umzimkhulu

4. Ilembe: Main Seat: Kwadukuza, Sub District: Maphumulo, Sub District: Ndwedwe

5. King Cetshwayo: Main Seat: Empangeni, Sub District: Mthonjaneni, Sub District: Nkandla, Sub District: Umlalazi

6. Ugu: Main Seat: Port Shepstone, Sub District: Umdoni, Sub District: Umuziwabantu, Sub District: Umzumbe

7. Umgungundlovu: Main Seat: Pietermaritzburg, Sub District: Umgungundlovu East, Sub District: Umgungundlovu West

8. Umkhanyakude: Main Seat: Ubombo, Sub District: Mtubatuba, Sub District: Umhlabuyalingana

9. Umzinyathi: Main Seat: Dundee, Sub District: Msinga, Sub District: Nquthu, Sub District: Umvoti

10. Uthukela: Main Seat: Ladysmith, Sub District: Inkosi Langalibalele, Sub District: Okhahlamba

11. Zululand: Main Seat: Nongoma, Sub District: Abaqulusi, Sub District: Ulundi, Sub District: Uphongolo

Government Gazettes

  • Magistrates’ Courts Act: Intention to create magisterial districts and establish courts in respect of KwaZulu-Natal Province, GG 41552, GoN 407, 29 Mar 2018

Enquiries on the Rationalisation Project can be directed to:
Mr Zacharia (Moagi) Makena
Deputy Director (Court Establishment)
Tel: 012 315 1767. Fax: 086 507 4984, E-mail: Rationalisation@justice.gov.za