Justice Home The Constitution Flag

Proclaimed Magisterial Districts

Interactive Map: Eastern Cape Magisterial Districts and Lower Courts

The Rationalisation of Magisterial Districts project enbales communities to get the following services from courts near to them: Hearings of criminal cases and civil disputes, Maintenance, Small Claims Courts, Domestic Violence, Children’ Court and Deceased Estates. If you are not sure where to get help or you are unable to access or understand the maps of the new demarcation ask the court manager at your nearest court.

LEGENDS/KEYS: Magistrate Courts Branch & Detached Courts Periodical Courts in the District.

You can also follow this link to obtain the contact details for the courts if you are experiencing problems seeing or navigating the map.
Alternatively you can still do a place name search per province to find the nearest court. You can also follow this link to find the contact details of your nearest Police Station.

Eastern Cape Magisterial Districts PDF Boundry Maps

1. Amathole: Main Seat: Mnquma (Butterworth) and Sub Districts: Amahlathi, Great Kei, Mbashe, Ngqushwa, Raymond Mhlaba

2. Alfred Nzo: Main Seat: KwaBhaca (Mount Frere) and Sub Districts: Matatiele, Ntabankulu, Winnie Madikizela-Mandela

3. Buffalo City: Main Seat: East London and Sub Districts: Mdantsane, Zwelitsha

4. Chris Hani: Main Seat: Komani and Sub Districts: Emalahleni, Engcobo, Intsika Yethu, Inxuba Yethemba, Sakhisizwe

5. Joe Gqabi: Main Seat: Sterkspruit and Sub Districts: Elundini, Walter Sisulu

6. Nelson Mandela: Main Seat: Gqeberha (Port Elizabeth) and Sub Districts: Kariega (Uitenhage), Motherwell, New Brighton

7. OR Tambo: Main Seat: Mthatha and Sub Districts: Ingquza Hill, Mhlontlo, Nyandeni, Port St Johns

8. Sarah Baartman: Main Seat: Makhanda (Grahamstown) and Sub Districts: Blue Crane Route, Dr Beyers Naude, Kouga, Ndlambe, Sundays River Valley

Updated: 05 April 2022

Government Gazettes

  • Magistrates' Court Act, 1944 (Act No. 32 of 1944): Creation of magisterial districts and the establishment of district courts in respect of the Eastern Cape Province, GG 46132, GoN 931, 30 Mar 2022 (Includes point-to-point descriptions).
  • Magistrates' Court Act, 1944 (Act No. 32 of 1944): Conversion of certain places for the holding of court (branch courts), and periodical court as courts at which all court-related services are provided in respect of the Eastern Cape, Gauteng, KwaZulu-Natal Province, GG 46132, GoN 928, 30 Mar 2022
  • Magistrates’ Courts Act: Intention to create magisterial districts and establish district courts in the Eastern Cape Province as part of the rationalisation of magisterial districts, GG 41552, GoN 406, 29 Mar 2018

Enquiries on the Rationalisation Project can be directed to:
Mr Makena Z Moagi
Deputy Director (Court Establishment)
Tel: 012 315 1767