What's New

What's New




The proposed establishment of ALRAESA was decided upon at a seminar on Best Practices in Law Reform held in Dar-es-Salaam, Tanzania, in October 2000 which was attended by representatives from a number of African countries.

ALRAESA was subsequently formally established in Windhoek, Namibia, in August 2003, at which occasion a draft Constitution for the Association was also approved. The law reform agencies of Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Namibia, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zanzibar and Zimbabwe formed part of the Association at the time of its establishment.

The purpose of ALRAESA, as set out in Article 3 of the approved Constitution, is to:

At a general meeting of ALRAESA in Cape Town, South Africa, in March 2004 it was decided to expand the membership to include Mauritius, Swaziland, Botswana and Rwanda.


With reference to Article 14 of the ALRAESA Constitution the ALRAESA Executive Committee consists of the following Member Countries:

  1. ChairpersonMalawi
  2. Vice-ChairpersonMauritius
  3. Secretary GeneralKenya
  4. Treasurer GeneralSouth Africa
  5. Ordinary MemberLesotho
  6. Ordinary Member – Zanzibar

Follow this link to view the ALRAESA Constitution PDF as on 9 November 2011 at Lilongwe, Malawi.

Follow this link to view the ALRAESA Administrative and Financial Regulations PDF, adopted on 17 March 2015.


Member Countries & Links

Member Countries of the Association of Law Reform Agencies of Eastern and Southern Africa (ALRAESA):

Other Law Reform Agencies

Other Links:



Please note that all documentation on the site is in PDF PDF format and require Acrobat Reader to open and read.