Equality Courts

Home> Courts> EQC> ERC

The Equality Review Committee

Equality Review Committee established in terms of section 32 of the Promotion of Equality and Prevention of Unfair Discrimination Act, 2000.The Committee advises the Minister of Justice and Constitutional Development about the operation of the Act and other pieces of legislation that impact on equality. The following are members of the Equality Review Committee (the ERC):

  • Adv Lawrence Mushwana (ex officio member)
    Chairperson : South African Human Rights Commission (SAHRC)
  • Professor Shadrack Gutto
    Centre for African Renaissance, UNISA
  • Vacant
    Representative of the National Assembly
  • Mr MC Maine
    Representative of the National Council of Provinces (NCOP)
  • Madam Justice Masipa
    Judge: South Gauteng High Court, Johannesburg
  • Vacant (ex officio member)
    Chairperson: Commission on Gender Equality (CGE)
  • Vacant
    Representative of the civil society